God Forbid!

If obedience be the thing in question, looking unto Jesus is the objective that melts the soul into love and gratitude!  Those who greatly love, and are greatly obliged find obedience to be easy.  When Jesus is upon our thoughts, either in His humbled or His exalted state; either as bleeding on the cross or as worshiped by all the host of heaven then we can ask the apostle’s question with a befitting disdain, “Shall we continue in sin that grace may abound? God forbid!” (Romans 6:1)  What! shall I sin against my Lord, my love, my Friend – who once died for my sins, and now lives and reigns on my behalf!  What! shall I sin against my Redeemer who supports, and leads, and guides, and feed me every day?  God forbid!

– John Newton

as quoted by – Duguid, Barbara; Extravagant Grace: God’s Glory Displayed in our Weakness; P&R Publishing; Philipsburg, NJ; copyright 2013; Page 191-192

 

Leave a Reply

