The Dark Truth about Justification by Works…

If I can do enough of the right things, I will have established my value.  Identity is the sum of my achievements.  Hence, if I can satisfy the boss, meet the needs of my spouse and children, and still pursue my dreams, then I will be somebody.  In Christian theology, such a position is called justification by works.  It assumes that my worth is measured by my performance.  Conversely, it conceals a dark and ghastly fear: If I do not perform, I will be judged unworthy.  To myself I will cease to exist.

– Tchividian, Tullian; One Way Love: Inexhaustible Grace for an Exhausted World; David Cook Publishers; copyright 2013; Kindle Edition; Location 567

Leave a Reply

